Chronicles Of Afro Bloggers Awards

I have to say I’m extremely late to this post but better late than never is what I’ve heard so I’m here. The inaugural Afro Bloggers Awards are here and voting is currently open. And well it’s ending soon (February 5) so be quick about your choices and by that I mean your votes for me. As you read this I’m currently nominated for an award in the Social Commentary Category. My name features alongside some of my favourite bloggers. I would probably say vote for Louisa Msiska she’s my favourite blogger in the category and how she covers events in Makawi is amazing. But I like awards too so maybe vote for me.

Social Commentary Category Nominees

The Afro Bloggers Awards this year feature 140 nominees spread across 14 categories. They’re not only bloggers but vloggers too. Over the years I have watched the consistent growth of the African blogging community, from monthly blogging challenges, to online friendships and now these Awards. I would just like to warn nominated bloggers that I shall be choosing a few favourites now. You might not make the list here but I’m half asleep and there’s no coffee so I would’ve just forgotten to mention you.

Video Blog Nominees

My favourite BookTuber Rudo Manyere and her video blog BasicGirl Reads gained a nomination this year and if she doesn’t get your vote you should definitely follow her channel. There’s no better place to be exposed to African literature and authors than there.

Tourism and Culture Nominees

Former comedian and retired celebrity Carl Joshua Ncube brings us into his rural life and how he is changing the image of Zimbabwean tourism. Ekhaya is his new business which seeks to turn simple rural housing into an exclusive tourist experience.

Personal Blog Nominees

The personal blog nominees feature so many of my favourites, I couldn’t choose who to vote for. Bolaji Gelax shares her amazing thoughts from Nigeria and together with Valentine they have an amazing blog series called “I am African but…” On Growing Pains, Mable Amuron gives us her insights from Uganda along with book reviews and other things. My best friend Dr Getty, explores life and it’s challenges on More to Getty. All are worth the read and deserving of a vote.

Creative Writing Nominees

When it comes to poetry, short stories and long running ones very few do it better than Joseyphina and Humanity Boss. They have a tantalising way with words. I’m always hooked to their feeds waiting for what’s next.

Entertainment Nominees

We have the interview king Zimboson, who’s always giving us insights into the minds of all our favourite creatives and he has such amazing turn around time. He just did 25 interviews in a month. The next Larry King maybe? Also a big shoutout to Enthuse Afrika they cover everything in Zimbabwean entertainment with great detail.

I know there’s only 2 days left of voting but hit the link and do it, also discover amazing blogs you hadn’t visited before.

What distracted me to bring this post late

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Basic Girl says:

    Aaaw! Thank you so much for the mention! I am rooting for you!💛

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Tino says:

    I may just vote for Louisa but you like awards too. What to do?! 😁

    Liked by 1 person

    1. teemadzika says:

      Lol you have a vote each day so split them between us

      Like

      1. Tino says:

        This is how elections are rigged, fam 😂

        Like

  3. GG says:

    thank you bestie and you know you deserve all the votes👏🏾👏🏾. 🤍

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment