Posted in Poetic Driblets

I Left It There 

  
I noticed the smile from much too far

Obviously artificial but still very much convincing.

Convincing of hope and happiness plus pleasant dreams in between.

I looked at it for a second and it was warming to my heart.

There was a heavenly quality to it

The way your lips curled at the edges

Taking my momentary fantasies and tangling with them.

I noticed the smile even though I had no intention of looking at you.

Not that you weren’t pleasant to look at.

I know you’re thinking that even if I found you unattractive

I wouldn’t mention it 

But as fate would have it you’re just beautifully made.

I noticed the smile and I left it there

I didn’t have the right words

I didn’t even have the right thoughts

So now every time it passes through my memory 

I just stop and stare.

Tee

Author:

Poet |Fiction Writer |Wannabe Comedian |Food lover |African |Zimbwabean

Leave a Reply

