Posted in Poetic Driblets

Air Borne Addiction

  

My eyes open released from their confinement behind my eye lids.

My mind freed from the grasp of the subconscious 

And another journey begins.

I can now feel my breath.

I inhale in new life

Purity in the air

I take it in to cleanse myself.

Rushing into my lungs and then spreading throughout my body.

My heart suddenly beats to a different rhythm.

One full of excitement.

One full of hope.

It’s not loud enough to get to my ears but still I feel it.

There’s a spring in my step.

Even my own skin is full of smiles.

I exhale out the bad, the unwanted and I feel myself relax.

Then for a moment I feel empty, I begin to see myself panic.

I want another taste.

I need to get my fix.

I need the cleanse to carry on.

So I inhale again 

And it’s like the air is giving me back parts of me I had long lost.

Parts I didn’t know were gone.

I live, I die, I sing, I cry, I smile, I’m saddened…

All in one breath at a time.

It’s almost as if everyday I live a thousand different lives.

Tee

Author:

Poet |Fiction Writer |Wannabe Comedian |Food lover |African |Zimbwabean

Leave a Reply

