Posted in Poetic Driblets

As I Was Walking Down The Street 

As I was walking down the street;

I met a young lady who was clearly pregnant.

She had countless plastic bags in her hands.

She could have used an extra hand.

Yet she still broke out a smile when our eyes met.

As I was walking down the street;

An old lady passed by me.

What a chatterbox she was.

She walked with a limp though

One of her legs was clearly giving her pain.

As I was walking down the street;

I saw a little boy nearly get hit by a car.

He fell to the ground

As the car stopped within inches of him.

In panic he just froze there.

As I was walking down the street;

A drivers life was nearly changed forever.

I saw on his countenance 

Happiness transformed to shock and horror.

As tires screeched, people screamed and time slowed.

As I was walking down the street;

I noticed that the pavement had cracks.

I tried to be articulate with placement of my steps.

I wanted to avoid the cracks.

I feared the ground might just crumble underneath.

As I was walking down the street;

I looked up into the sky and noticed the floating smoke 

Of lost dreams and lost hope

An envelope around the earth

Choking us with despair

As I was walking down the street;

I realized we all have problems.

But if we choose to be 

We can be 

In fact we are bigger than our problems.

You need to just open up your eyes and see it.

Tee

Author:

Poet |Fiction Writer |Wannabe Comedian |Food lover |African |Zimbwabean

2 thoughts on “As I Was Walking Down The Street 

Leave a Reply

