Posted in Poetic Driblets

The Curse That Is Depression

The late afternoon summer sky.

Darkness slowly taking over as it approaches night.

A battle going on within my mind.

My spirit weakened by constant challenges.

I’m basically in a labyrinthine of life’s making

And I’m thinking of giving up the fight to find the exit.

I’m at the end of the tunnel but I don’t see the light.

It’s hard to describe the feeling 

I’m simply engulfed with sorrowful emotions 

Sad and a bit hopeless

To an extent enraged 

Both my hands are gripped tightly around the handle of a sharp blade.

I’m contemplating suicide

I feel like the only solution is for me to end my life 

If it’s this much torture to live, it’s got to be easy to die.

I bash my head with my fist and I begin to cry.

Depression is a real disease is what people need to realise.

It hurts even the strong and not just the weak.

Though the truth is your reality is never truly that bad

It’s just your mind playing tricks on you 

It’s just doubt creeping in and making you lose belief.

Tee

Author:

Poet |Fiction Writer |Wannabe Comedian |Food lover |African |Zimbwabean

2 thoughts on “The Curse That Is Depression

Leave a Reply

